Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

GTA:V Modding with ZModeler3 discussion.
Post Reply
User avatar
nnano
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 am

Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by nnano »

Hey, lately i’ve been noticing really strange thing happening, to be more presice, 3/5 vehicles i worked on, had this problem. When i import a working vehicle, then change one small thing, like delete something or make something smaller, i export the file, launch the game, and vehicles goes crazy, it’s starts floating, if it can even drive, it’ll go only straight, and etc. A video showcasing what’s happening —> https://youtu.be/WFE3vdEsh80?si=YY7jiSorYtiXTUOH it’s like it has it’s own new f7cked up centre of gravity, i guess it’s something with axes maybe??? Honestly no idea, never happened before, but now happened to 3 vehicles
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14100
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by Oleg »

make sure you export both model.yft and model_hi.yft files as their hierarchy (objects set) have to be identical.
If you deleted a part that had a collision, then this part/collision might have been referred from a configuration file.

I advise to reimport model back into zmodeler and take a look - may be some part or collision is in a wrong hierarchy branch?
User avatar
nnano
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 am

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by nnano »

Oleg wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 10:56 am make sure you export both model.yft and model_hi.yft files as their hierarchy (objects set) have to be identical.
If you deleted a part that had a collision, then this part/collision might have been referred from a configuration file.

I advise to reimport model back into zmodeler and take a look - may be some part or collision is in a wrong hierarchy branch?
When i was deleting something, it was purely cosmetic, something that didn’t have a collision, and when i was cheking this truck (that’s shown in the video) all collisions were in their places, hierarchy in .yft and _hi.yft is identical as well
User avatar
nnano
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 am

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by nnano »

nnano wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 11:28 am
Oleg wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 10:56 am make sure you export both model.yft and model_hi.yft files as their hierarchy (objects set) have to be identical.
If you deleted a part that had a collision, then this part/collision might have been referred from a configuration file.

I advise to reimport model back into zmodeler and take a look - may be some part or collision is in a wrong hierarchy branch?
When i was deleting something, it was purely cosmetic, something that didn’t have a collision, and when i was cheking this truck (that’s shown in the video) all collisions were in their places, hierarchy in .yft and _hi.yft is identical as well
And well for example we take a car that had only pure cosmetic object deleted, it worked fine before, i was changing some things in it a day before (deleting something, adding something, changing UV) and the file wasn’t locked or something. Things like these just started happening out of the blue
Seb5a
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2021 10:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by Seb5a »

What kind of items you have in your hierarchy? You can see that in zmodeler log after export. Limit is 127 and maybe that's why it acts like that.
Do you have licensed Zmodeler? Those cracked versions mostly are fucked up so I hope you're not using one of those.
User avatar
nnano
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 am

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by nnano »

Seb5a wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 6:31 am What kind of items you have in your hierarchy? You can see that in zmodeler log after export. Limit is 127 and maybe that's why it acts like that.
Do you have licensed Zmodeler? Those cracked versions mostly are fucked up so I hope you're not using one of those.
Of course licensed haha, item limit is not really a possible thing, maybe on truck, but on another vehicle where i deleted 8 items, making the hierarchy item count smaller, it wouldn’t make sense. Honestly i thought maybe problem is with axes, or collision settings, but again, if it worked fine before, and i just changed 1 small thing, what could’ve cause the problems. Could be because of import settings maybe, but again, only 3 out of 5 vehicles acted strangely like this, so wouldn’t make sense. Honestly im confused
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14100
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by Oleg »

the first shot I would to is to import and export with no changes at all.
User avatar
nnano
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:00 am

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by nnano »

Oleg wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 9:50 am the first shot I would to is to import and export with no changes at all.
Fixed the truck, no idea how. Restarted my pc (meaninf restarting zmod as well), imported, checked chassis [COL], reset axes to parent, ungrouped (it was a group), attached the parts togheter, made it a collision part again, exported, now it works. I’ll check other cars a little later.

I do have 1 idea.

I usually leave my pc in deep sleep mode, while zmod is on, so sometimes i dont revalidate my license and keep working with it for several days, maybe it caused that.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14100
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: Exporting a vehicle, makes it go nuts in game

Post by Oleg »

may be. the non-licensed version (if something is detected) will make a zero mass vehicle on export.
Post Reply