1.50 Broken materials

SCS Software ATS and ETS2 editing using ZModeler3 filter. Models, Materials, Animation.

Moderator: Oleg

Post Reply
Mmeister
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:42 am

1.50 Broken materials

Post by Mmeister »

Hi,

Any solution here? Basically all my mods are ruined with this new update. No warnings in console.

Image
Image
Mmeister
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:42 am

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Mmeister »

Never mind. I found that they have moved around the normals & other textures, hence the weird effects. The 1.50 paths are different compared to 1.49 and thus textures appear missing. Adding them to the mod manually seems to fix the issue.
User avatar
Harald-RS
Beginner
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:08 am
Location: Treuchtlingen / Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Harald-RS »

How did you set up the export in Z-Mod?
Greetings
Harald
My System: PC Windows 11
Mmeister
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:42 am

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Mmeister »

Image

Like this?
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14229
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Oleg »

yes, materials export should be fine with the settings above.
Mmeister
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:42 am

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Mmeister »

Any idea why I have no errors visible in the game.log.text and console 1.50 (first post images). Used to be nice red / yellow color if something was missing?

I'd like to do more modding but, how am I going to resolve issues now if I no longer see warnings & errors?
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14229
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Oleg »

you should post this at official scs forum, as this question is not related to ZModeler.
User avatar
Harald-RS
Beginner
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:08 am
Location: Treuchtlingen / Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Harald-RS »

Did you set ETS2 / ATS higher than 1.47 when exporting?
Greetings
Harald
My System: PC Windows 11
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14229
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Oleg »

Harald-RS wrote: Sat May 18, 2024 1:23 am Did you set ETS2 / ATS higher than 1.47 when exporting?
yes, on his screenshot above an "ATS/ETS2 1.47+" mode is selected.
the question was "why the game does not write anything in a log while it certainly has errors in materials/textures"? that's what I have no idea about :(
User avatar
Reinhard
Beginner
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Reinhard »

I can't tell why. No idea.

But with 1.50 and the introduction of HashFS v2 archives for mods, handling of TOBJ/DDS changed. From now on, any mod containing a DDS also needs the TOBJ counterpart to be present in the mod. Even if the TOBJ file is not modded, you have to fetch it from the base, and put it into your mod as well. Otherwise, the DDS isn't used, and a pink checker pattern will show. The modding guide for ETS 2 1.50 talks about it, but doesn't state that this is now how it works for all kind of mods, nor just HashFS v2 archives.

The same is true if you only have a TOBJ file in your mod, and no DDS counterpart.

Whenever you see such graphics error, and no matching error message about "file not found blah blah blah" shows up, check your mods for sole DDS or TOBJ files.
Mmeister
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2021 9:42 am

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Mmeister »

You are 100% correct Reinhard. I have slacked on tobj's and some textures and hence the broken mods upon 1.50 release. I guess I'll stick to including everything into the mod from now on. In fact as you say its mandatory now.

With regards to errors: Maybe they haven't programmed that into the check list yet?
User avatar
Reinhard
Beginner
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 10:38 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Reinhard »

I hope that it was just an oversight that no error message is generated. Time will tell.
User avatar
Harald-RS
Beginner
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:08 am
Location: Treuchtlingen / Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Harald-RS »

But it's somehow illogical because you're unnecessarily bloating the mod.

But if you use the original DEF, for example, then strangely enough no checkered patterns are displayed.

I think that the tobj format and model or the mapping have changed.
Greetings
Harald
My System: PC Windows 11
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
Posts: 14229
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am
Contact:

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Oleg »

It was stated in a changes log that new archive package format assumes that .tobj and .dds are always in pair in the same location, meaning the game uses one hash value to reach data for .tobj and it's actual .dds image. I suspect, they store this data as a single memory unit inside an archive and "extractor" just creates two files files for us that we used to deal with (while the game does not need them to be two files actually).

given that, one have to always include .tobj and .dds into the mod as a pair of files, or not include any of them. The absence of a error in a log is probably a miss of SCS guys, there should be some error reported if this condition is not met.
User avatar
Harald-RS
Beginner
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:08 am
Location: Treuchtlingen / Germany

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Harald-RS »

The strange thing is that when I add the new SCS machines to my model and the SCS model, the pillow, for example,
is displayed correctly. But as soon as Z-Mod exports the 3D model and saves the machine again,
whether it is overwritten or a new one is created, the 3D model is displayed in pink and white.
Greetings
Harald
My System: PC Windows 11
Fazer001
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:49 am

Re: 1.50 Broken materials

Post by Fazer001 »

It didn't matter until 1.50 how something was named.
mat. (/vehicle/truck/upgrade/interior_decors/toyseat/textures/Noemi.tobj) (Noemi.dds) (Noemi.tobj) then you get pink/white without error entry in game.log, check your files for capital letters 1.50 don't like it......
and now: (/vehicle/truck/upgrade/interior_decors/toyseat/textures/noemi.tobj) (noemi.dds) (noemi.tobj) works.

Zmod doesn't care and loads it anyway: (/vehicle/truck/upgrade/interior_decors/toyseat/textures/noemi.tobj) (Noemi.dds) (Noemi.tobj)
Post Reply