How to modify scs models

SCS Software ATS and ETS2 editing using ZModeler3 filter. Models, Materials, Animation.

Moderator: Oleg

Mmeister

How to modify scs models

Post by Mmeister »

Hi,

I'm new to game modding. Have some ideas I would like to make in ETS2. I have some experience with 3d design software such as CATIA V5, Solidworks and Inventor for past 15 years. Have a general idea how to operate with parts/assemblies - modify or make from scratch. But in Zmodeler I'm lost, files seem like they are locked for editing. For starters I set to modify game files. I wanna split a trailer to get axle module from one model and merge with another to create a new configuration but I'm totally lost. I did not found an explanation or a guide anywhere on internet that made sense. How can I learn to model and edit files? What steps I need to follow to be able to split model and merge with another. Then I guess I have to edit some sii files to fit too.

Thanks.
And I apologize if such topic is on forums already.
Oleg
Site Admin

Re: How to modify scs models

Post by Oleg »

Hello.

ZModeler3 is a successor of ZModeler2 product and generally use the same tools set and workflow as ZModeler2. You can probably use ZModeler2 starter guides that I suppose widely available.

On the other hands, you are likely to pin to 3D software you are familiar with and use ZModeler to assembly a game-ready model only. So, you need to know general-purpose operations on objects like splitting, merging, hierarchy assembly and, most important, materials configuration. You can use Collada DAE or FBX files to transfer models between ZModeler and a 3D software of your choice.

To your questions, the object is split with Modify\Submesh\Detach tool which requires you to select polygons inside an object first. In most of cases, Select\Separated or Select\Element tools will give accurate fragmented selection on polygons level. All selection tools work with right mouse button and use Ctrl for deselection.