Converting PED models to GTA5

GTA:V Modding with ZModeler3 discussion.

Moderator: madga182

Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby pigeon999 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:39 pm

I would like to know how to convert San Andres PEDs to work in GTA4 and GTA5. Are there any videos available or any examples you can show me?

Thanks,
pigeon999
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby Oleg » Sun Aug 06, 2017 5:32 am

no ideas on conversion to GTA4, probably some GIMS tools for 3dsMax can be used.
Concerning conversion to GTA5, you can import original gta5 model (the one you will replace) and replace mesh components of original model with the one you've got from gtaSA: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNH2EN9B0ds
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7635
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby pigeon999 » Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:40 pm

Thanks for the reply. I watched the video but am not familiar with Zmodeler and there seem to be many steps. The. video also does not have any audio. Can you point me in the direction of something easier or that explains what is going on.
pigeon999
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby Oleg » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:31 am

search youtube for gta5 ped conversions videos, there were several videos posted in past time. I made only quick overview videos with no audio..
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7635
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby pigeon999 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:17 pm

Thnanks. I have made progress and I am stuck now where I have done most of the conversion but the Ped does not have a skeleton attached. I have tried. It can't work out how to add a skeleton to the modified Ped. Can you point me in the right direction? Thanks
pigeon999
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby Oleg » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:29 am

this is done with Select\Mark tool on skeleton base (right-click) and rigging\skeleton\bind tool (left click)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNH2EN9B0ds
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7635
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby pigeon999 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:16 am

Thanks. I think I have managed to get the skeleton inserted but now when I spawn the red into GTA5 the game crashes immediately. I have attached the ped files as well as the GTA5 chase log in the hope that you can take a quick look and tell me what I have done wrong. I really appreciate your help with this.

Thanks.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
photo 5.PNG
gta ped.z3d
(5.43 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
pigeon999
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:20 am

if geometry file has increased in size compared to original .ydd file, make sure to set higher Base values in "user-defined options" on topmost scene dummy node in hierarchy; original values will not fit probably.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7635
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby pigeon999 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 1:07 am

My modified file is definitely bigger than the original but I can't find the "user defined menu" you referred to in your last message. Could you explain how to find this again? Are you also able to. Check the.ydd file I attached to my last post to see if the hierarchy looks right? Maybe I have done something wrong.

Thanks
pigeon999
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Converting PED models to GTA5

Postby Oleg » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:56 am

the scene setup is definitively wrong. you need to import original game model (.yft file and .ydr file) with "Skeletal" option toggled on in import options window (options window appears below file list when you pick the file for an import).

concerning user-defined options, they are available in "Properties" page on the right side when you select an object. You can hold Alt and click on [v] mark next to the ig_bankman object in hierarchy view. the [v] mark will change to [#] mark, meaning an object is selected; at the same time "Properties" page will show properties for selected object. User-defined options are in the bottom of properties list; double-click on them to open properties window.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7635
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am


Return to Grand Theft Auto V

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests