Report Import/Export bugs here

GTA:V Modding with ZModeler3 discussion.

Moderator: madga182

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby f5544 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:04 pm

you need to uvmap the door.
in the uvmap you can place the logo once. make the logo bigger(wider with colour or blank skin) or select less polygons to uvmap.
f5544
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby TT. » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:08 pm

First of all: Great work Oleg! Thanks a lot for all your efforts.

I have the following problem:
So, I have imported the tailgaters hi and base files and everything looks great, all materials have textures assigned to them. Now I save the scene to a .z3d file and after I reopen this file, none of the materials have any textures assigned to them. Now, is this just me doing something wrong or is there something more going on here?

EDIT:
Found something else: I imported the tailgater and exported it immediately, everything looks good ingame except the steering wheel is tilted towards the driver by like 60 degrees from the original position.
Last edited by TT. on Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TT.
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby f5544 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:08 pm

Chasez wrote:
f5544 wrote:great work man, did you use the original textures? or are you not there with the progress yet?
because the glass isn't that bright and the reflection isn't there


Everything is original except collisions (used buffalo2 cols). I'm still learning to work with Zmod3 and gta5 filter but I hope to get a very good result soon.


i am in a lightbar conversion and first i am using the gta v original materials. the glass materials are clearer.
Maybe the conversion of glass materials is not good.
f5544
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Mister Brooks » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:17 pm

f5544 wrote:you need to uvmap the door.
in the uvmap you can place the logo once. make the logo bigger(wider with colour or blank skin) or select less polygons to uvmap.


sorry i do not understand what you mean, any tutorial for this ? short or long no problem, only to to understand idea, thanks
User avatar
Mister Brooks
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:25 pm

@Mister Brooks, all textures in gta5 are exported in "repeat" mode. I guess there are settings for "do not repeat" somewhere, but I haven't located a model where to spot this property at. All materials i've seen looks like use "repeat" mode by default. All extra livery are made as a separate polygons, so texture repeat does not harm the rest of surface. In ZModeler it can be turned off by setting "Clamp" texture mode instead of "Wrap". It's located on material properties on associated texture slot (in the bottom of each texture slot).

@f5544, do you mean import/export of original model makes glass look more clear than it was before? Or you just notice your own model have a more clear glass than original vehicle had? there could be per-vertex alpha involved in computations in game, i'm not quite sure.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Xcon » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:27 pm

Hi there, Oleg I notice the Cols are not spawning in Zmod3, I have to click dismiss to unlock that feature, is there any way I can import without having to dismiss all main dummy to get the cols,etcc?

https://i.gyazo.com/6161e7d4886fa396456 ... c95a1c.png
Xcon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:56 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Mister Brooks » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:31 pm

Oleg, Is there a solution to put one Logo without repeat ?
User avatar
Mister Brooks
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 4:02 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:32 pm

@Xcon, you've cut the top part of screenshot.. do you have a COL button on Structure panel (next to L0, L1, L2 buttons) ?
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Xcon » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:36 pm

When ever I import the model there is col but u can't see it, so I have to press the DISMISS button for it to show?


here is a better screen shot https://gyazo.com/bd693303c5bcfe699fc27ce512cd45fd
Xcon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:56 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby f5544 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:49 pm

Oleg wrote:@Mister Brooks, all textures in gta5 are exported in "repeat" mode. I guess there are settings for "do not repeat" somewhere, but I haven't located a model where to spot this property at. All materials i've seen looks like use "repeat" mode by default. All extra livery are made as a separate polygons, so texture repeat does not harm the rest of surface. In ZModeler it can be turned off by setting "Clamp" texture mode instead of "Wrap". It's located on material properties on associated texture slot (in the bottom of each texture slot).

@f5544, do you mean import/export of original model makes glass look more clear than it was before? Or you just notice your own model have a more clear glass than original vehicle had? there could be per-vertex alpha involved in computations in game, i'm not quite sure.


I ment the car from chasez has a grey glass. but i for my lightbar i used the glass from the car and that one is clear.
so no bug or something.
f5544
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:15 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:53 pm

@Xcon, toggle off "Lo" on top of structure panel and toggle on "COL" there. you will see collision nodes then.

@f5544, it might be affected by dirt-mapping. UV#2 should be mapped properly, when it is not, the top-left pixel of texture is used. It could be possible that top-left pixel of dirt texture makes an entire window look like grey glass. just a guess.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Xcon » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:12 pm

Also Oleg should I be worry about this - https://gyazo.com/e6e8a7429e551ff4a39b30d2cfc6885d
Xcon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:56 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:18 pm

@Xcon, yes. you can not export model if you have dismissed a compound. you must reassemble it. All LOD geometries must be combined into one compound node. Watch the video guide posted in sticky topic about "hierarchy and geometries".
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Xcon » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:20 pm

Ok I have dissmised all of them not good right? i attached a picture

Pic - https://gyazo.com/d7e157ca04d60a3937f831ff315b6587
Xcon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 6:56 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby FPS » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:56 pm

Oleg wrote:@Kamel , if you have a .z3d file that makes ZModeler to crash on export, send me your .z3d in private message. Also, if you look closer, to "can not locate" message, you will notice that you export into buffalo_hi.yft, while your scene has buffalo2_hi node.

@FPS, I'm currently inspecting your case. Technically, vehicle_paint1 in contrast to vehicle_mesh, does not require vertices tangents and does not utilize bump-map layer. I've checked the exported vehicle_mesh code and it appears to be matching the original (compared to buffalo2 vehicle_mesh code). Still exploring this case.



vertices tangents, I can guarantee that this is what causes problems.
As soon as I apply a mesh material to a piece with complex geometry and high vertex count the game crashes.
I personally can't find any other explanation.
Oleg, can this be related to the filter being unable to process that much data and export wrong vertices tangents?


Edit:
After some more testing, I've come up with the idea that the filter can't process that much data.
Here is what I did.
I chopped all the mesh pieces to many 500-1000 polygon objects, assigned different (seperate materials with same setups) materials to them, and rebuilt the original object.
This way I was testing if individual materials have poly/vertex limit on them.

So far the result is this.

When certain amount of materials are used on exported model, the game crashes.
I've tried changing them around (replacing one material with paint1 and using another material instead of the first one) and so far the maximum amount of materials that can be exported and not crash the game is 27 materials according to the messaging bar.
What can be causing this?
Can the export be messed up due to not enough allocated memory to Zmodeler on export, or maybe it is the filter that can't process that much data correctly?

P.S
This is extremely similar to gta iv's rc20 error.
FPS
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:42 am

I'm currently exploring this issue.

Technically, when tangents are used, an overal data size increases and exporter switches to packing data in bigger base size (128K vs 64K default), while the data is still packed within maximum limit of 256K pages. this does not exceeds the pattern so I expect the game to take this file properly. for example, "cargoplane_hi" also resides on 128K pages. There's something involved in how packing affects the game. for example, if I force "mesh" shader to be exported with no tangents, it works, like paint1. with some small glitches, but it works. I'll check your "maximum materials" strategy too, may be this affects the game somehow too.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby FPS » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:19 am

Oleg, can you send me the filter that forces the mesh material to be exported with no tangents? I would like to perform some tests on some complex geometry and see the results.
Also, if the maximum data limit is 256k pages, can you edit the filter to work at 256k instead of 64/128k?I'm really interested to see if the increasing of this limit will make any significant difference.

P.S.
I somehow managed to get the adder to spawn in game by applying paint1 to all original adder parts (selected everything in any Lod in polygon form and applied the paint1 to them) and the car now spawns.
Still testing the max material/poly material limits.
FPS
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:36 am

@FPS, i'll applying some more tests now. looks like there is "some value" inside yft file that affects the model loading. I've managed to load your file with mesh assigned and even with all original materials assigned as it was in .z3d you've sent. Need some more time to investigate the issue prior to submitting an update.

Edit: i've submitted an update related to your issue.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby smokey8808 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:00 am

Could someone tell me where an "env" texture can be found within game files ? it seems to be the only texture missing when i try to import model "adder". i've been looking through posted documentation but this texture doesnt seem to be mentioned.
smokey8808
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:25 pm

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby FPS » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:04 am

smokey8808 wrote:Could someone tell me where an "env" texture can be found within game files ? it seems to be the only texture missing when i try to import model "adder". i've been looking through posted documentation but this texture doesnt seem to be mentioned.

I don't think there is one. I use a spherical environmental image instead
This is the one I use
http://payload.cargocollective.com/1/3/ ... GO_960.jpg
FPS
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:13 am

env.dds should be any spherical environment. preferable, it should be black square texture with a reflection sphere in a middle. reflection sphere should not be too bright, so your model will not appear overbright in ZM. the lower part of sphere should be darker than the upper.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:41 am

I've submitted an additional fix to objects rotations bug. The steering wheel should appear properly in game now after modification.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby Oleg » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:05 am

@TT. I've exported tailgator instead of buffalo2 and exported as is too (moved rear doors aside to ensure a modded vehicle shown). no changes, vehicle as is - import and export:

tailgater.jpg
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Import OBJ files into .yft scene error.

Postby aRLaN6 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:56 am

I'm working on a truck for GTA V (.yft files) and I'm trying to import OBJ files (part previously created) to add to my truck, but I get a "Cannot complete task, your license denies this action."

I have a valid Zmodeler 3 license that is up to date. How can I get around this?

Arlan

Actual I can no longer import any OBJ files even in a new open window.
User avatar
aRLaN6
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:07 pm
Location: Minneapolis

Re: Report Import/Export bugs here

Postby FPS » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:10 am

For some unknown reason, the glass stopped showing up for me in game after the steering wheel updated filter
FPS
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 7:39 am

PreviousNext

Return to Grand Theft Auto V

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest