Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Technical issues and help in: forum registration/posting, account creation/confirmation, platforms and licenses issues.

Moderator: Oleg

Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby RD3 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:31 am

I can't post to the regular forum for some reason....

The second I open Zmodeler, it crashes. I don't even get to the options screen. I just paid for a licence this morning. How can I fix ithis?
RD3
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:03 pm

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:47 am

Hello.

What is your OS version?

If you run windows 8 or windows 10, right-click on zmodeler3.exe, pick "Compatibility" and run through compatibility wizard. Specify "this application was working on older versions of windows" -> "windows 7" -> Ok.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby RD3 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:39 am

Oleg wrote:Hello.

What is your OS version?

If you run windows 8 or windows 10, right-click on zmodeler3.exe, pick "Compatibility" and run through compatibility wizard. Specify "this application was working on older versions of windows" -> "windows 7" -> Ok.


I'm using Windows 7, which is the strange part. Occasionally I can get it to work, but not often. I've already reinstalled it several times and was able to run Zmodeler 2 effortlessly.
RD3
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:03 pm

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:49 am

right-click on "ZModeler3.exe", pick "Properties" (may be "Compatibility") and toggle "Run as administrator"
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby RD3 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:45 pm

Oleg wrote:right-click on "ZModeler3.exe", pick "Properties" (may be "Compatibility") and toggle "Run as administrator"


Just tried that, it still isn't working.
RD3
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:03 pm

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Mon Oct 16, 2017 2:22 am

remove Services\NetworkService.zms file and let me know whether it starts this way or not.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby RD3 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:22 am

Oleg wrote:remove Services\NetworkService.zms file and let me know whether it starts this way or not.


Still won't start when I do that. It lasted a little longer on the "Z" startup screen, but that's it.
RD3
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:03 pm

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Chasez » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:43 pm

Same here lately.
User avatar
Chasez
Beginner
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:54 am

has anything changed recently? may be video driver update or something else in OS was updated? Does clean download/installation of zmodeler reach video/direct3D configuration screen?
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Chasez » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:41 pm

Same again today. No updates, graphics or os. The only way to start it is to reinstall Zmod and reset settings which is getting really annoying.
User avatar
Chasez
Beginner
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:45 am

does placing "ZModeler3_profile.xml" file from original package into pre-installed folder solves the problem too? I clarify: Windows could apply some settings/compatibility options to an application. placing XML file from original package into a folder with problematic (fail to start) ZModeler will force ZModeler to start with no 3D configuration (an options dialog will appear), but it will start with windows-defined compatibility options on executable file (zmodeler3.exe).

If ZMod still crashes at startup even after being feed with non-configured original XML file, the problem might be in compatibility options windows apply to an executable file.

will try to inspect this more closely as I see a report "windows has configured compatibility options for this application" from time to time. Don't know what windows does there and what exactly gets changed, need it explore this.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Chasez » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:52 am

Happened again. Replacing just the ZModeler3_profile.xml file fixes the issue but still have to reset all the toolbars and texture directories.
User avatar
Chasez
Beginner
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Oleg » Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:29 am

So,

fresh install -> run -> configure 3D -> Ok -> close -> start again -> crash #1

after crash #1 -> replace XML -> start -> configure 3D -> Ok -> close -> start again -> crash #2?

can you browse XML file after "configure 3D -> Ok -> close" and quote here a "Preference -> Engine" branch?

like this:
Code: Select all
    <zmp:folder name="Preference">
      <zmp:folder name="Engine">
        <zmp:key name="DepthFormat" type="l" value="75"/>
        <zmp:key name="VertexProcess" type="l" value="0"/>
        <zmp:key name="MultySample" type="l" value="4"/>
        <zmp:key name="MultySampleQuality" type="l" value="2"/>
        <zmp:key name="GeometryCaching" type="l" value="1"/>
        <zmp:key name="Device" type="s" value="Hardware@AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series"/>
      </zmp:folder>
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7763
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Crashing On Startup, Licence hasn't been fulfilled yet

Postby Chasez » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:35 am

Oleg wrote:So,

fresh install -> run -> configure 3D -> Ok -> close -> start again -> crash #1

after crash #1 -> replace XML -> start -> configure 3D -> Ok -> close -> start again -> crash #2?

can you browse XML file after "configure 3D -> Ok -> close" and quote here a "Preference -> Engine" branch?

like this:
Code: Select all
    <zmp:folder name="Preference">
      <zmp:folder name="Engine">
        <zmp:key name="DepthFormat" type="l" value="75"/>
        <zmp:key name="VertexProcess" type="l" value="0"/>
        <zmp:key name="MultySample" type="l" value="4"/>
        <zmp:key name="MultySampleQuality" type="l" value="2"/>
        <zmp:key name="GeometryCaching" type="l" value="1"/>
        <zmp:key name="Device" type="s" value="Hardware@AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series"/>
      </zmp:folder>


Strangely, it has't crashed since the last comment I made. I updated my graphics driver (before the last comment, on 19/10), it crashed once after that and now it's working just fine. No windows updates or any other changes just graphics driver. Don't know why or how but it is working, for now.
User avatar
Chasez
Beginner
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 am


Return to Tech support (forum, account, licenses)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest