I need help with editing prefabs

SCS Software ATS and ETS2 editing using ZModeler3 filter. Models, Materials, Animation.

Moderators: Oleg, _RicH_

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:50 am

I don't have option origin on any dummy node. What I should write in your example?
Mod folder is equal to D:\Mods\FLD.
I want to export on folder outside of Mod folder, or, if I must, in Mod folder, not inside. In your example, I want to export to D:\Mods or D:\Mods\FLD.
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:57 pm

I was making prefabs knowing that I must care about textures later.
I don't know how, but when I started to mapping again with problematic prefabs, textures appeared.
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Thu Mar 29, 2018 10:12 pm

you should always export to mod folder. when you export to a folder like D:\Mods\FLD\prefab\cross\cross_2x2\test.pmd[/b] with D:\Mods\FLD being specified as "Mod folder", the exporter will consider everything following it to be a correct folders layout. Thus, the origin path will be automatically evaluated to "\prefab\cross\cross_2x2", any material and texture not being given an exact group-path in materials editor or textures browser, will be given a path "\prefab\cross\cross_2x2" on export; or, for example, if material is given a group named "mats", the final path will be evaluated to ""\prefab\cross\cross_2x2\mats". Note, materials (.mat) and textures (.tobj) in game need to have fully-qualified path being given to them.

read "Paths and folders guide" topic , it have been described there fully.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:26 am

I read it more times.
I just don't know how it work sometimes. When I exported before to Mod folder there weren't texutres. And when I exported after outside Mod folder, there was textures.
You don't need to answer on this. Whole theory is failing.
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:15 am

when export is "matching" mod folder (export into any-depth sub-folder of mod folder), you will get TOBJ and MAT files created and these are allowed to be created in any folders inside mod folder. an example is a "shared" textures like on original prefab models - textures and materials are located in "material/terrain" folder or something like that and share materials/textures across a lot of prefabs). When export is not "graceful" (e.g. not matching a mod folder), ZModeler will create MAT and TOBJ files inside an export folder only and these are quite likely to be incorrect setup later when you pack the mod (red or pink objects showing untextured models).
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:42 am

I set all texutre setting so they are linked to textures in Mod folder. All subfolders and paths are correct.
It looks that when I correctly set base and Mod folder, it isn't matter if I export inside or outside Mod folder.
Also, I don't get new mat and tobj files because Zmodeler is successfully finding them in Mod folder.

Only thing which I don't understand why I didn't see textures when I complained, but that is computer. Maybe that was coincidence with some background things...
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:47 am

ZModeler does not "find .mat or .tobj in mod folder", it probably re-creates and rewrites them. Also, ZModeler will not put textures into any folders, it will create .tobj files, and you have to put textures into respective folder manually.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Sun Apr 01, 2018 12:14 am

Now I really don't understand theory. I am still successfully exporting outside Mod folder.
Further discusion is pointless.
Thank you for explaining.
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:56 am

What reasons can cause that surface/paint doesn't work?
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:38 pm

1. object has no per-vertex color (diffuse color in "mesh->format" properties)
2. surface\paint tool has wrong target color/channel in settings window. should be Primary.RGB there
3. assigned material has option toggled "ignore per-vertex color".
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:40 am

I imported one more object and same. So, 1. and 3. reason are removed.
2. reason isn't, I checked.
I can't sign in to Dropbox, so I uploaded to sharemods:
http://sharemods.com/uvns42mbjrz8/freew ... 4.z3d.html
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:06 pm

it's #1.
take a look:
Attachments
primary_color.jpg
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby brainiac » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:51 pm

Can I make variations with different AI lanes and border splines?
brainiac
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 am

Re: I need help with editing prefabs

Postby Oleg » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:01 pm

no. ai lanes can not have variation on prefab.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Previous

Return to ATS and ETS2 by SCS Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron