Page 1 of 1

Custom Scene State [nothing shows up]

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 10:39 am
by seantello21
Hi I have a serious problem, when I click on a a custom scene state eg chassis or cab nothing shows up in the preview.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 12:04 pm
by Oleg
can you show a screenshot of structure panel with any of object (that by your expectation should show up) being selected in hierarchy window (and associated custom state button being pressed) ?

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:28 pm
by seantello21

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:32 am
by Oleg
no, i need to see a hierarchy of objects, where "359" is on top. alternatively, save a .z3d file and send it to me, I'll check where scene is ok or not.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:53 am
by seantello21

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:09 am
by Oleg
you have hierarchy branch ticked off (hidden) inside a collapsed branch. This is a default for collision to be ticked off on import.
truck_states.jpg

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:18 am
by seantello21
wow thanks for the quick reply can i stretch the truck now?

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:25 am
by Oleg
sure, but mind this is a collision (physics volumes) of the truck, not the 3d model itself.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:40 am
by seantello21
so there is no way to get the 3d model itself

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:51 am
by Oleg
i don't know what the model is it. all original game models are editable. some third-party made models might be locked to prevent editing.

I personally haven't seen a truck model being made of just a collision. you are probably missing to load some other pmd files.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:57 am
by seantello21
there is more to import than just truck.pmd? Like What?

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:10 am
by Oleg
it depends on a model structure. it is quite possible to make model being assembled from a lot of pmd files. Original game models use truck.pmd as the base model and small fragments are added as accessory. A third-party made model could have base model made of several pmd files.

I'm just telling your .z3d file contained no geometry at all, only collision data. I have never seen this to be a result of importing original game's "truck.pmd" file, that is why I've supposed you're missing to load some more pmd files.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:27 am
by seantello21
last question. What should i do now? and thanks for the help

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:07 pm
by Oleg
what model file (path/name) have you imported? is it a stock game model or a downloaded mod?

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:34 pm
by seantello21
downloaded mod

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:39 pm
by Oleg
you should explore *.sii definition files to find out how the model is build. quite likely it has chassis in a separate file(s) and cabin in another file(s).

ETS2/ATS allows quite a lot of freedom in how the final model is build for the game engine, the truck could be made of dozen of components from different files.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 1:59 am
by seantello21
sorry for the late replies i don't get notified and thanks will try that.

Re: Custom Scene State Problem

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:47 pm
by seantello21
you can mark this post as answered i guess