Model scale?

Troubleshooting gudes, solutions and other ZModeler3-related discussion

Moderators: Oleg, madga182

Model scale?

Postby Patr8198 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:50 pm

When i import a normal scania streamline scs base model :)
What scale is that so i can scale a model i got to exact the same size :D ?
Patr8198
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: Model scale?

Postby Oleg » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:58 pm

ZModeler shows coordinates (bottom-right corner) and dimensions (object properties/general/boundary) in units. 1.0 unit of model is 1.0 meter.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Model scale?

Postby Patr8198 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:04 pm

What if i select the whole model and then use scale and click (TAB) then use all axes and then scale it to 1.000 will that be the same as the other model if that model is to big from import :D ?
Attachments
Udklip.JPG
Patr8198
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:49 pm

Re: Model scale?

Postby Oleg » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:13 pm

nope. this way you rescale the model.

you should
- import original scania model first;
- import your own model (of a different size).
- create a box on original scania model matching the height on some well-defined measurement points (e.g. from rooftop down to the footstep). you need just one size to match, the height in this particular case
- create the same box for your own model on exactly the same measurement points. Notice, I don't suggest you to create a box of the cabin height, as models might have different 3D details on top or on bottom of cabin making measurement to be non-identical.
- read box height in object properties and write down the dimension matching on vertical object's axis.
- select all objects related to the new model and use modify\Scale tool to resize on all axes mode (toggle it in "Tab" window). Then type scaling value.

The scaling value for Scale tool is in percentage. 100 = no scale; 120 = 20% bigger, 75 = 25% smaller. In your case you should use a value: 100 * original_height / your_model_height

P.S. you can read box "height" straight after creating it, in an options flyout window; you can press "Esc" button to cancel creation, as you don't need the box object actually, just the measurement.
User avatar
Oleg
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7154
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:54 am

Re: Model scale?

Postby Patr8198 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:24 pm

Thank you <3

WORLD BEST SUPPORT <3
Patr8198
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:49 pm


Return to ZModeler3 General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest